The Sevenfold Path

The psychedelic journey does not begin in earnest until you have realized the hippy mantra, “lose your mind and come to your senses”, that is, until your mind stops and your body takes over, until you stop thinking and start feeling.

Then the sevenfold path can unfold:

  1. Lose your mind (Mystic = Dhyana Yoga)
  2. Come to your senses (Shaman = Kundalini Yoga)
  3. Come into your power (Warrior = Karma Yoga)
  4. Open your heart (Monk/Nun = Bhakti Yoga)
  5. Free your mind (Philosopher = Jnana Yoga)
  6. Know thyself (King/Queen = Raja Yoga)
  7. Love thy neighbour (Friend = Maitri Yoga)

The first six yogas correspond to the three points on the Gnosis, Pistis, Kenosis cycle:

  1. Dhyana Yoga + Kundalini Yoga (Mystic Shaman) = Kenosis (“purification”)
  2. Karma Yoga + Raja Yoga (Warrior King/Queen) = Gnosis (“perception”)
  3. Jnana Yoga + Bhakti Yoga (Philosopher Monk/Nun) = Pistis (“dalliance”)

Although the yogas are to a certain extent a matter of personal temperament and predilection, so that an intellectually-minded, bookish person will be drawn to Jnana Yoga, whereas an active, practical person will find it off-putting, preferring the way of selfless work and Karma Yoga, none should be completely neglected, since doing so will disrupt the flow of Kenosis, Gnosis, Pistis.

However, one may prefer Dhyana Yoga over Kundalini Yoga, Karma Yoga over Raja Yoga, Jnana Yoga over Bhakti Yoga (or vice versa) without too much disruption. Problems arise when both yogas in each pair (Dhyana and Kundalini, Karma and Raja, Jnana and Bhakti) are skipped altogether. Eventually we will lose our capacity for purification, perception or dalliance and the whole process will stall and grind to a halt.